About

GCR Audio Recording Studios is located in the home of the legendary John Storyk designed Trackmaster Audio. The original recording studio was commissioned by Kim Ferullo and Alan Baumgardner and constructed in the early 1980s.

For nearly 20 years artists such as The Goo Goo Dolls, Yes, Melanie, Rick James, Man O War, Richie Havens, Thelma Houston, Ani DiFranco and many local WNY artists have made great music in one of the largest, best sounding live rooms in the area.

The main live and control room are housed in the 1100 sq. ft. 2nd floor of the 150+ year-old former St. Margaret’s Girls School Convent which is part of a unique “Jeffersonian” arts campus.  In the late 90s the studio went vacant and fell into disrepair, enduring the cold buffalo winters with no heat, pipes burst and electricity was interrupted.

In 2005 Ian Gillan of Deep Purple was interested in coming to Buffalo to use the Trackmaster studio, a temporary fix was put together to utilize the space for his “Gillan’s Inn” album, upon which the Goo Goo Dolls were commissioned to perform on “Smoke On The Water.”

After making music in the room once again the Goo Goo Doll’s John Rzeznik and Robby Takac decided to rebuild and revive the old Trackmaster studios to record their “Something For The Rest of Us” album. In 2006 John Storyk was once again commissioned to design and oversee the transformation of the Trackmaster space for today’s specific studio needs. An enormous collection of musical equipment, outboard gear and microphones were brought into the space and Inner Machine Studios was born.

In 2009 Inner Machine Studios was opened to the public as GCR Audio, run by studio manager and head engineer Justin Rose. GCR Audio not only provides access to this legendary recording space, but also has a vast collection of instruments and amplifiers, experienced engineers, studio musicians and producers for a first rate studio experience.